TIMA laboratory

PhD thesis defenses


« Native Simulation of MPSoC: Instrumentation and Modeling of NonFunctional Aspects ».

Candidate: O. Matoussi

Advisor: F. Pétrot

President of jury: F. Maraninchi

PhD: These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Speciality: informatique

Defense: Le 30/11/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP (Viallet) - Amphi C

Abstract

Modern embedded systems are endowed with a high level of parallelism and significant processing capabilities as they integrate hundreds of cores on a single chip communicating through network on chip. The complexity of these systems and their dedicated software should not be an excuse for long design cycles, even though the design space is enormous and the underlying design decisions are critical. Thus, design space exploration, hardware/software coverification and performance estimation need to be conducted within a reasonable amount of time and early enough in the design process to avoid any tardy detection of functional or performance deficiencies. Cosimulation platforms are becoming an increasingly important part in design and verification steps. With instruction interpretationbased software simulation platforms being too slow as they model lowlevel details of the target system, an alternative software simulation approach known as native simulation or hostcompiled simulation has gained momentum this past decade. Native simulation consists of compiling the embedded software to the host binary format and executing it directly on the host machine. However, this technique fails to reflect the performance of the embedded software and its actual interaction with the target hardware. So, the speedup gained by native simulation comes at a price, which is the absence of nonfunctional information (such as time and energy) needed for estimating the performance of the entire system and ensuring its proper functioning. Without such information, native simulation approaches are limited to functional validation. Yielding accurate estimates entails the integration of highlevel abstract models that mimic the behavior of targetspecific microarchitectural components in the simulation platform and the accurate placement of the obtained nonfunctional information in the highlevel code. Backannotating nonfunctional information at the right place requires a mapping between the binary instructions and the highlevel code statements, which can be challenging particularly when compiler optimizations are enabled. In this thesis, we propose an annotation framework working at the compiler intermediate representation level to accurately annotate performance metrics extracted from the binary code, thanks to a dedicated mapping algorithm. This mapping algorithm is further enhanced to deal with aggressive compiler optimizations, such as loop unrolling, that radically alter the structure of the code. Our target architecture being a VLIW processor, we also model at a high level its instruction buffer to faithfully reproduce its timing behavior. The experiments we conducted to validate our mapping algorithm and component models yielded accurate results and high simulation speed compared to a cycle accurate ISS of the target platform.

 

« Testing Techniques for Detection of Hardware Trojans in Integrated Circuits of Trusted Systems ».

Candidate: L. Acunha Guimaraes

Advisor: L. Fesquet

President of jury: G. Gogniat

PhD: These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Speciality: Nanoélectronique et Nanotechnologies

Defense: Le 01/12/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP - Amphi Gosse

Abstract

The world globalization has led the semiconductor industry to outsource design and fabrication phases, making integrated circuits (ICs) potentially more vulnerable to malicious modifications at design or fabrication time: the hardware Trojans (HTs). New efficient testing techniques are thus required to disclose potential slight and stealth HTs, and to ensure trusted devices. This thesis studies possible threats and proposes two new post-silicon testing techniques able to detect HTs implanted after the generation of the IC netlist. The first proposed technique exploits bulk built-in current sensors (BBICS) – which are originally designed to identify transient faults in ICs – by using them as testing mechanisms that provide statistically-comparable digital signatures of the devices under test. With only 16 IC samples, the testing technique can detect dopant-level Trojans of zero-area overhead.The second proposition is a non-intrusive technique for detection of gate-level HTs in asynchronous circuits. With this technique, neither additional hardware nor alterations on the original test set-up are required to detect Trojans smaller than 1% of the original circuit. The studies and techniques devised in this thesis contribute to reduce the IC vulnerability to HT, reusing testing mechanisms and keeping security features of original devices.

 

« Design flow for ultra-low power : nonuniform sampling and asynchronous circuits ».

Candidate: J. Simatic

Advisor: L. Fesquet

President of jury: F. Pétrot

PhD: These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Speciality: Nanoélectronique et Nanotechnologies

Defense: Le 07/12/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP (Viallet) - Amphi Gosse

Abstract

Integrated systems are mainly heterogeneous systems with strong power consumption constraints. They embed actuators, sensors and signal processing units. To limit the energy consumption, they can exploit event-based techniques, namely non uniform sampling and asynchronous circuits. Indeed, they allow cutting drastically the amount of sampled data for many types of signals and reducing the system activity. To help designers in quickly developing platforms that exploit those event-based techniques, we elaborated a design framework called ALPS. It proposes an environment to determine and simulate at algorithmic level the sampling scheme and the associated processing in order to select the most efficient ones depending on the targeted application. ALPS generates directly the analog-to-digital converter based on the chosen sampling parameters. The elaboration of the processing unit uses a synchronous high-level synthesis tool and a desynchronization method that exploits specific asynchronous protocols to optimize the circuit area and power consumption. Finally, gate-level simulations allow analyzing and validating the energy consumption before continuing with a standard placement and routing flow. The conducted evaluations show a reduction factor of 3 to 8 of the consumption of the automatically generated circuits. The flow ALPS allow non-specialists to concentrate on the optimization of the sampling and the processing in function of their application and to reduce the circuit power consumptions by one to several orders of magnitude.

Laboratoire TIMA

Thèses soutenances


« Simulation Native des MPSoC: Instrumentation et Modélisation des Aspects Non Fonctionnels ».

Candidat : O. Matoussi

Directeur de thèse : F. Pétrot

Président du jury : F. Maraninchi

Thèse de Doctorat : These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Spécialité : informatique

Soutenance : Le 30/11/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP (Viallet) - Amphi C

Résumé

Les systèmes embarqués modernes intègrent des dizaines, voire des centaines, de coeurs sur une même puce communiquant à travers des réseaux sur puce, afin de répondre aux exigences de performances édictées par le marché. On parle de systèmes massivement multicoeurs ou systèmes manycoeurs. La complexité de ces systèmes fait de l’exploration de l’espace de conception architecturale, de la covérification du matériel et du logiciel, ainsi que de l’estimation de performance, un vrai défi. Cette complexité est généralement compensée par la flexibilité du logiciel embarqué. La dominance du logiciel dans ces architectures nécessite de commencer le développement et la vérification du matériel et du logiciel dès les premières étapes du flot de conception, bien avant d’avoir accès à un prototype matériel. Ainsi, il faut disposer d’un modèle abstrait qui reproduit le comportement de la puce cible en un temps raisonnable. Un tel modèle est connu sous le nom de plateforme virtuelle ou de simulation. L’exécution du logiciel sur une telle plateforme est couramment effectuée au moyen d’un simulateur de jeu d’instruction (ISS). Ce type de simulateur, basé sur l’interprétation des instructions une à une, est malheureusement caractérisé par une vitesse de simulation très lente, qui ne fait qu’empirer par l’augmentation du nombre de coeurs. La simulation native est considérée comme une candidate adéquate pour réduire le temps de simulation des systèmes manycoeurs. Le principe de la simulation native est de compiler puis exécuter la quasi totalité de la pile logicielle directement sur la machine hôte tout en communiquant avec des modèles réalistes des composants matériels de l’architecture cible, permettant ainsi de raccourcir les temps de simulation. La simulation native est beaucoup plus rapide qu’un ISS mais elle ne prend pas en compte les aspects nonfonctionnels, tel que le temps d’exécution, dépendant de l’architecture matérielle réelle, ce qui empêche de faire des estimations de performance du logiciel. Ceci dresse le contexte des travaux menés dans cette thèse qui se focalisent sur la simulation native et s’articulent autour de deux contributions majeures. La première s’attaque à l’introduction d’informations nonfonctionnelles dans la représentation intermédiaire (IR) du compilateur. L’insertion précise de telles informations dans le modèle fonctionnel est réalisée grâce à un algorithme dont l’objectif est de trouver des correspondances entre le code binaire cible et le code IR tout en tenant compte des optimisations faites par le compilateur. La deuxième contribution s’intéresse à la modélisation d’un cache d’instruction et d’un tampon d’instruction d’une architecture VLIW pour générer des estimations de performance précises. Ainsi, la plateforme de simulation native associée à des modèles de performance précis et à une technique d’annotation efficace permet, malgré son haut niveau d’abstraction, non seulement de vérifier le bon fonctionnement du logiciel mais aussi de fournir des estimations de performances précises en des temps de simulation raisonnables.

 

« Techniques de Test Pour la Détection de Chevaux de Troie Matériels en Circuits Intégrés de Systèmes Sécurisés ».

Candidat : L. Acunha Guimaraes

Directeur de thèse : L. Fesquet

Président du jury : G. Gogniat

Thèse de Doctorat : These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Spécialité : Nanoélectronique et Nanotechnologies

Soutenance : Le 01/12/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP - Amphi Gosse

Résumé

La mondialisation et la déverticalisation des métiers du semi-conducteur a mené cette industrie à sous-traiter certaines étapes de conception et souvent la totalité de la fabrication. Au cours de ces étapes, les circuits intégrés (CIs) sont vulnérables à des altérations malignes : les chevaux de Troie matériels (HTs). Dans les applications sécuritaires, il est important de garantir que les circuits intégrés utilisés ne soient pas altérés par de tels dispositifs. Afin d’offrir un niveau de confiance élevé dans ces circuits, il est nécessaire de développer de nouvelles techniques de test pour détecter les HTs, aussi légers et furtifs soient-ils. Cette thèse étudie les menaces et propose deux approches originales de test post-fabrication pour détecter des HTs implantés après synthèse. La première technique exploite des capteurs de courant incorporés au substrat (BBICS), originalement conçus pour identifier les défauts transitoires dans les CIs. Dans notre cas, ils fournissent une signature numérique obtenue par analyse statistique permettant de détecter tout éventuel HT, même au niveau dopant. La deuxième proposition est une méthode non intrusive pour détecter les HTs dans les circuits asynchrones. Cette technique utilise la plateforme de test du circuit et ne requiert aucun matériel supplémentaire. Elle permet la détection de HTs dont la surface est inférieure à 1% de celle du circuit. Les méthodes et les techniques mises au point dans cette thèse contribuent donc à réduire la vulnérabilité des CIs aux HTs soit par adjonction d’un capteur (BBICS), soit en exploitant les mécanismes de test s’il s’agit de circuits asynchrones.

 

« Flot de conception pour l’ultra-faible consommation : échantillonnage non uniforme et électronique asynchrone ».

Candidat : J. Simatic

Directeur de thèse : L. Fesquet

Président du jury : F. Pétrot

Thèse de Doctorat : These de Doctorat, Université de Grenoble

Spécialité : Nanoélectronique et Nanotechnologies

Soutenance : Le 07/12/2017 à 10 h 00 GRENOBLE INP (Viallet) - Amphi Gosse

Résumé

Les systèmes intégrés sont souvent des systèmes hétérogènes avec des contraintes fortes de consommation électrique. Ils embarquent aujourd’hui des actionneurs, des capteurs et des unités pour le traitement du signal. Afin de limiter l’énergie consommée, ils peuvent tirer profit des techniques évènementielles que sont l’échantillonnage non uniforme et l’électronique asynchrone. En effet, elles permettent de réduire drastiquement la quantité de données échantillonnées pour de nombreuses classes de signaux et de diminuer l’activité. Pour aider les concepteurs à développer rapidement des plateformes exploitant ces deux techniques évènementielles, nous avons élaboré un flot de conception nommé ALPS. Il propose un environnement permettant de déterminer et de simuler au niveau algorithmique le schéma d’échantillonnage et les traitements associés afin de sélectionner les plus efficients en fonction de l’application ciblée. ALPS génère directement le convertisseur analogique/-numérique à partir des paramètres d’échantillonnage choisis. L’élaboration de la partie de traitement s’appuie quant à elle sur un outil de synthèse de haut niveau synchrone et une méthode de désynchronisation exploitant des protocoles asynchrones spécifiques, capables d’optimiser la surface et la consommation du circuit. Enfin, des simulations au niveau portes logiques permettent d’analyser et de valider l’énergie consommée avant de poursuivre par un flot classique de placement et routage. Les évaluations conduites montrent une réduction d’un facteur 3 à 8 de la consommation des circuits automatiquement générés. Le flot ALPS permet à un concepteur non spécialiste de se concentrer sur l’optimisation de l’échantillonnage et de l’algorithme en fonction de l’application et de potentiellement réduire d’un ou plusieurs ordres de grandeur la consommation du circuit.