Research

CDSI

Circuits, Devices and System Integration
since 2015


Research topics

photo CDSI

The Circuits, Devices and System Integration (CDSI) axis is involved in the design, fabrication and test of integrated devices, circuits and systems. The main driver of the activity is focused on the research in energy consumption and in miniaturized devices and systems. Results of this research are applicable for portable and autonomous systems, which usually require low-power consumption, miniaturization, robustness and security. Indeed, our digital society, which offers large communication facilities to people, tends to enlarge the communication to machines and small communicating objects such as wireless sensor nodes (Internet of Things). This will multiply by several orders of magnitude the amount of energy consumed by the digital objects and will push the industry to foster new approach for mitigating the power consumption. In this context, the CIS (Concurrent Integrated Systems) and MNS (Micro and Nano Systems) teams developed new techniques based on asynchronous circuitry, non-uniform sampling schemes, energy harvesting and low-power sensors and actuators.


Last publications

Skaf A., Ezzadeen M., Benabdenbi M., Fesquet L., Adjustable Precision Computing Using Redundant Arithmetic, Workshop on Approximate Computing (AxC'2019), Florence, ITALY, 2019
 
Sylvestre A., Jean-Mistral C., Basrour S., Soft Electroactive Polymers for Energy Harvesting, BIT’s 5th Annual World Congress of Smart Materials - 2019, Rome, ITALY, 2019
 
Plassan G., Morin-Allory K., Borrione D., Mining Missing Assumptions from Counter-Examples, Transactions on Embedded Computing Systems (TECS), Ed. ACM, NY, USA, Vol. 18, No. 1, DOI: 10.1145/3288759, 2019
 
Ayres A., Rozeau O., Borot B., Fesquet L., Batude P., Vinet M., Variance Analysis in 3D Integration: A Statistically Unified Model with Distance Correlations, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, Ed. IEEE, Vol. 66, No. 1, pp. 633-640, DOI: 10.1109/TED.2018.2879680, 2019
 
Ferreira De Paiva Leite T., FD-SOI technology opportunities for more energy efficient asynchronous circuits, These de Doctorat, 2019
 
Annual activity report

Recherche

CDSI

Circuits, Devices and System Integration
créée en 2015


Thèmes de recherche

photo CDSI

L'axe Conception de Dispositifs, Circuits et Systèmes (CDSI) oeuvre dans le domaine de la conception, la fabrication et le test de dispositifs, circuits et systèmes intégrés. L'activité principale se concentre sur la minimisation de l'énergie et la miniaturisation de composants et systèmes. Les résultats de ces recherches sont notamment applicables aux systèmes mobiles et autonomes, qui nécessite en pratique faible consommation, miniaturisation, robustesse et sécurité. En effet, notre société numérique, qui offre de puissantes infrastructures de communication pour les personnes, tend à étendre cette possibilité aux machines et aux petits objets communicants comme les réseaux de capteurs (Internet des objets). Ce développement va multiplier par plusieurs ordres de grandeur la quantité d'énergie consommée par ces objets numériques et cela va contraindre l'industrie à adopter de nouvelles stratégies pour limiter cet excès de consommation. Dans ce contexte, les équipes CIS (Concurrent Integrated Systems)et MNS (Micro and Nano Systems) devéloppent de nouvelles techniques basées sur les circuits asynchrones, l'échantillonnage non-uniforme, la récupération d'énergie et des capteurs ou actionneurs conçus pour la faible consommation.

Responsables d'équipe

BASROUR Skandar
FESQUET Laurent

Dernières publications

Ferreira De Paiva Leite T., Fesquet L., Possamai Bastos R., A body built-in cell for detecting transient faults and dynamically biasing subcircuits of integrated systems, Microelectronics Reliability, Ed. Elsevier, Vol. , 2018
 
Andreoni Camponogara Viera R., Dutertre J.M., Potin O., Flottes M.-L., Di Natale G., Rouzeyre B., Possamai Bastos R., Assessing Body Built-In Current Sensors for Detection of Multiple Transient Faults, Microelectronics Reliability, Ed. Elsevier, Vol. , 2018
 
Kerstel E., Gardelein A., Barthelemy M., Gilot Y., Le Coarer E., Rodrigo J., Sequiès T., Borne V., Bourdarot G., Burlet J.-Y., Christidis A., Segura J., Boulanger B., Boutou V., Bouzat M., Chabanol M., Fesquet L., Fourati H., Moulin M., Niot J.-M., Possamai Bastos R., Robu B., Rolland E., Toru S., Fink M., Koduru Joshi S., Ursin R., Nanobob: a CubeSat mission concept for quantum communication experiments in an uplink configuration, EPJ Quantum Technology, Ed. Springer , Vol. , 2018
 
Andreoni Camponogara Viera R., Modeling and Simulating the Effects of Laser Fault Injection on ICs, These de Doctorat, 2018
 
Rendon A., Design, modeling and evaluation of a thermo-magnetically activated piezoelectric generator, These de Doctorat, 2018
 
Rapport annuel d'activité