ASYNC 2006

12th IEEE International Symposium on Asynchronous Circuits and Systems

March 13-15, 2006, Grenoble, France
Async 2006 Program
09:00-09:30 Introduction
Marc Renaudin introduction
09:30-10:30 Invited Talk 1
Chair: Steve Furber
Asynchronous Design: An Enabler for Flexible Microelectronics
Nobuo Karaki, Seiko Epson Corp.
Download the presentation (PDF file, 7064Ko).
10:30-11:00 Break
11:00-12:30 Session 1: Interfacing and Synchronization
Chair: Paolo Ienne
Measuring Deep Metastability
David Kinniment, Keith Heron, Gordon Russell
Download (PDF file, 426Ko).
A Level-Crossing Flash Asynchronous Analog-to-Digital Converter
Filipp Akopyan, Rajit Manohar, Alyssa B. Apsel
Download (PDF file, 730Ko).
An Asynchronous High-Throughput Control Circuit For Proximity Communication
Jo Ebergen, Alex Chow, Bill Coates, Justin Schauer, David Hopkins
Download (PDF file, 8954Ko).
14:00-15:30 Session 2: Fault-tolerance and testing
Chair: Marly Roncken
Self-Healing Asynchronous Arrays
Song Peng, Rajit Manohar
Download (PDF file, 230Ko).
Low-Overhead Testing of Delay Faults in High-Speed Asynchronous Pipelines
Gennette Gill, Ankur Agiwal, Montek Singh, Feng Shi, Yiorgos Makris
Download (PDF file, 297Ko).
A Transistor-Level Test Strategy for C2MOS MOUSETRAP Asynchronous Pipelines
Feng Shi, Yiorgos Makris
Download (PDF file, 325Ko).
15:30-16:00 Break
16:00-17h30 Session 3: Novel architectures and Design practices
Chair: Erik Brunvand
A Novel Design Method for Asynchronous Bundled-data Transfer Circuits Considering Characteristics of Delay Variations
Masasahi Imai, Takashi Nanya
Download (PDF file, 427Ko).
An ultra-low energy asynchronous processor for Wireless Sensor Networks
Luca Necchi, Luciano Lavagno, Davide Pandini, Laura Vanzago
Download (PDF file, 2750Ko).
AsyncRFID: Fully Asynchronous Contactless Systems, Providing High Data Rates, Low Power and Dynamic Adaptation
Edith Beigné, Damien Caucheteux, Marc Renaudin, Elisabeth Crochon
Download (PDF file, 1171Ko).
09:00-10:00 Invited Talk 2
Chair: Jens Sparsø
ATRS: an alternative roadmap for semiconductors, technology evolution and impacts on system architecture
Jean-Pierre Schoellkopf, STMicroelectronics
Download the presentation (PDF file, 923Ko).
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-12:00 Session 4: Interconnect and Communications
Chair: Takashi Nanya
Surfing Interconnect
Mark R. Greenstreet, Jihong Ren
Download (PDF file, 631Ko).
Multiple-rail Phase-encoding for NoC
Crescenzo D'Alessandro, Delong Shang, Alex Bystrov, Alex Yakovlev, Oleg Maevsky
Download (PDF file, 190Ko).
Fast Asynchronous Shift Register for Bit-Serial Communication
Rostislav (Reuven) Dobkin, Ran Ginosar, Avinoam Kolodny
Download (PDF file, 5714Ko).
14:00-15:00 Session 5: Synthesis
Chair: Tomohiro Yoneda
Optimal Technology Mapping and Cell Merger for Asynchronous Threshold Networks
Cheoljoo Jeong and Steven M. Nowick
Download (PDF file, 8954Ko).
Synthesising Heterogeneously Encoded Systems
Will Toms
Download (PDF file, 8954Ko).
15:00-15:30 Break
15:30-18:00 Industrial session
Chair: Ken Stevens
• Brees Roger (Boeing), download in PdF (1366Ko).
• Rik Van de Wiel (Handshake Solutions), download in PdF (1910Ko).
• John Willis (FTL), download in PdF (1210Ko).
• John Bainbridge (Silistix).
• Andrew Lines (Fulcrum), download (PDF file, 2907Ko).
  Social event
09:00-10:00 Invited Talk 3
Chair: Alex Yakovlev
Asynchronous Architectures for Nanometer Scales
Ferdinand Peper, National Institute of Information and Communications Technology
Download the presentation (PDF file, 834Ko).
10:00-10:30 Break
10:30-12:00 Session 6: Design and Architectures for GALS
Chair: Doug Edwards
GALS at ETH Zurich: Success or Failure ?
Frank K. Gurkaynak, Stephan Oetiker, Hubert Kaeslin, Norbert Felber, Wolfgang Fichtner
Download (PDF file, 1655Ko).
Interface Design for Rationally Clocked GALS Systems
Joycee Mekie, Supratik Chakraborty, Girish Venkataramani, P.S. Thiagarajan, D.K. Sharma
Download (PDF file, 295Ko).
Design of On-chip and Off-chip Interfaces for a GALS NoC Architecture
Edith Beigné, Pascal Vivet
Download (PDF file, 1089Ko).
13:30-14:30 Session 7: Slack Matching
Chair: Mark Josephs
Slack Matching Asynchronous Designs
Peter A. Beerel, Mike Davies, Andrew Lines, Nam-Hoon Kim
Download (PDF file, 377Ko).
Slack Matching Quasi Delay-Insensitive Circuits
Piyush Prakash, Alain J. Martin
Download (PDF file, 3230Ko).
14:30-15:00 Best Paper Award (Download PDF, 774Ko) & Closing Session (Download PDF, 52Ko)

©2006 Laboratoire TIMA.
Tous droits réservés.